Gaeta in South Lazio Italy

Serapo Beach and other Gaeta Beaches

From just outside the Sanctuary of the Holy Trinity on one side of Monte Orlando there is a terrace with scenic views across the expanse of Serapo Beach.  The area gets its name as there is thought to have been a Roman temple in this vicinity that was dedicated to the deity of Serapis.  Serapo beach is the main beach of Gaeta and is made of fine golden sand.  Serapo beach has many colourful lido establishments and is conveniently located very close to the centre of town. From the sanctuary there are also excellent views of the town and the Gulf of Gaeta with the wonderful beautiful natural backdrop of the magnificent Aurunci Mountains.

© Austen Shapcott

Fontania Beach in Gaeta

Just past the far headland towards the north west of Serapo beach is the small cove and the beach of Fontania which is only accessible on foot or by swimming. Here can be found the ruins of a Roman Villa, dating back to 1 AD, that belonged to the consul Gneo Fonteo.  There is also evidence of a small Roman port or pool.  There are some caves in the rocky cliffs that were once utilised as store rooms and nearby is a small fresh water spring.  Just a short distance off the coast is a small rocky island which resembles the shape of a ship. It is known as the “Nave di Serapo” and is rich in marine life and popular with sub-aqua enthusiasts and snorkellers.

The Cave Il Pozzo del Diavolo

A little further along the coast is the secluded cove and beach of Quaranta Remi which can only be reached by boat. Nearby there is a deep chasm in the rocks which is known as the Pozzo del Diavolo or the Pozzo delle Chiave.  A strange noise can be heard as the waves crash and rebound in the hidden cave below. The cave can be accessed only by a small boat under a low archway in the rocks. Closeby is a second cave named the Tana dei Copertoni.

More Beaches Along The Coastline of Gaeta

Between Gaeta and Sperlonga there are numerous coves and golden sandy beaches including Ariana, Le Scissure, Tre Centro Gradini, l’Arenauta, San Vito and Sant’Agostino.